Are the OptiBac supplements dairy free or vegan?
The probiotics in For your cholesterol are dairy free, but the omega 3 capsules contain bovine gelatine and are not suitable for vegans.
The rest of the OptiBac Probiotics range may contain tiny traces of dairy, as many of our probiotic strains (such as Bifidobacterium infantis Rosell-33) are originally cultured on a basis of organic dairy & soy before being extracted. The rest of the range is therefore not recommended for those who are strictly vegan or allergic to dairy.
However, certain probiotics have shown to aid the body's digestion of lactose1, and the amount of dairy in our probiotics is negligible, hence the whole range can be safely recommended to those who are lactose intolerant. In particular For babies & children has proven very beneficial for infants and children with lactose intolerance. Many of our customers with lactose intolerance happily take probiotics containing traces of lactose on a regular basis to great benefit (see our reviews here).
The whole range is suitable for your lactose intolerant customers. However, if they are strictly allergic to dairy then it's best stick to For every day EXTRA Strength, For every day MAX, For those on antibiotics, Bifidobacteria & fibre, For daily immunity, For women or Saccharomyces boulardii, all of which are officially & completely vegan. For further information, please refer to the allergy table below.
*N.B.: Please note that as of the 31st March 2017 'For every day' has changed its allergy status and is no longer strictly dairy-free or vegan. Dairy has become necessary in the manufacturing process and tiny traces may remain in the product. The product will continue to be fine for those with dairy intolerance but not for those with a severe dairy allergy.
1. Kocian, J. (1996) Further possibilities in the Treatment of Lactose Intolerance: Lactobacilli. Prakticky Lekar (General Practitioner). Vol. 74. pp. 212-214.